TPP-11 trade deal likely take effect in earlier Jan 2019: minister

TOKYO, Oct. 20 ― Japan’s Economy Minister Toshimitsu Motegi has said the Trans-Pacific Partnership (TPP) without the United States, also known as TPP-11, will likely come into force in earlier January 2019.

“The TPP-11 should take effect in earlier January next year,” Motegi said at an Oct. 19 press conference, pointing out the TPP-11 legislation passed through the Australian parliament on Oct. 18 and New Zealand’s parliament will soon pass its legislation.

“I hope that we could well see other signatories in a position to follow Australia and New Zealand over the coming weeks and months,” he added.

The TPP-11 had been signed by Japan, Canada, Australia, New Zealand, Singapore, Mexico, Vietnam, Malaysia, Peru, Brunei and Chile in January.

The TPP-11 trade agreement will enter into force 60 days after six of the remaining 11 countries of the TPP have ratify it, a process that involves amending their respective domestic laws.

So far, Japan, Mexico and Singapore have ratified the agreement.

This entry was posted in Farm Policy, Trade Talks. Bookmark the permalink.